History for the curious

It could be said that I am a bit of a voyeur.

Okay, it actually has been said that I’m a bit of a voyeur.

Raised in a family of unintentional eavesdroppers, a dinner out for me is a feast of accidentally overheard conversational snippets. Stumbling upon a realtor’s open house means a chance viewing of architectural interiors and home decorating styles.

Now, to be sure, there’s nothing sinister in my affliction. I simply love imagining the stories.  One line overheard out of context in a restaurant becomes an opportunity for me to create a full, albeit fictional, character study and history on the lives of fellow diners. A glimpse gained during an open house showing provides fodder for imagining the life and times of an unknown neighbor.

In the same way, I love to hypothesize on the real histories of buildings. Recently, I’ve started to satisfy my curiosity by researching the truth of local house stories. And that’s where this blog comes in. A place to chronicle those stories, and perhaps, satisfy a little bit of your curiosity as well.

Housestory: Tales of the Built Environment will begin with a selection of brief histories on early owners of some of my favorite everyday homes in Colorado Springs.  And we’ll see where it goes from there…

What do you think?

